2 Comments

I don’t think he cares about his political future. He will be 81 shortly after the next presidential election. The only way he runs again is if Trump runs. If a large majority of the country understood the need for constantly changing mask policies, he would remove it. But they don’t. So he doesn’t.

Expand full comment

The virus moves fast and we have shown a decided inability to adjust to changing knowledge and conditions. Every time I hear a story on the news about how Americans are confused, it makes me cringe. Not only do we know more things, it’s not the same virus. It sounds like I am disagreeing but I’m not - I’m saying the whole approach of choosing one set of immutable rules and sticking to them come hell or high water is the problem.

That said, catching Covid while traveling is an problem we could all do without. I am planning a conference in March and mulling over food. Decisions I would be ok with here at home feel a little riskier knowing I might get stuck in another city for an extra week if I test positive. People are planning shorter trips just so they can make it home before they test positive. All of which is saying that the balance for airports is maybe trickier than those for home.

Expand full comment